Empower parent support groups to help families of children with cancer in China

To move forward in breeding the development and establishment of childhood cancer parent organizations within cities of China; we also encourage childhood cancer parent organizations and medical professions to form a trustworthy relationship to achieve the self-helping goal.

In 2006, a milestone of PKW as we have started to develop twinning projects in China.  Guangzhou is the first city of our twinning project.  In June 2006, Guangzhou Gold-ribbon Special Children Parents Center (GG) (former name: The Guangzhou Childhood Cancer Parent Group) was declared to be founded which was the first childhood cancer parent organization established by civil body in China.

We work unceasingly with GG in this twinning project by not only providing financial support but also work closely to expand our services network in China.  We have accomplished 3 China Parents Conference in 2009, 2011 and 2013 at Guangzhou, Chengdu and Wuhan respectively. The most commendable is GG has been officially recognized by the China government as a non-profit organization and a civil charity group.

* 推動中國癌症病童家長支援組織成立和發展,援助更多癌症家庭

計劃目的是推動國內兒童癌病家長/互助組織的發展。本會關注國內兒童癌病患者及其家庭的需要,積極推動國內不同地區家長互助組織的建立。基金會同時鼓勵家長/互助組織與醫護人員建立良好的醫患關係,實現助人自助的目標。

2006年本會開始拓展與國內城市的兒童癌病家長/互助組織配對計劃,是本會於國內事務的一大里程碑。廣州成為本會首個配對對象。同年6月,廣州市金絲帶特殊兒童家長互助中心 (原名:廣州市癌症患兒家長會,簡稀廣州金絲帶)宣告成立,是中國首個由民間自發組成的兒童癌症家長互助組織。

本會與廣州金絲帶的配對合作一直無間,除了提供經濟支援外,還攜手拓展國內兒童癌症病童服務網絡,於2009年、2011年及2013年分別在廣州、成都及武漢舉辦了三屆「中國癌症患兒家長及互助組織交流會」。最難能可貴的是廣州金絲帶在2011年獲得國家確認為民辦非企業資格,成為正式的民間公益團體。