Childhood Cancer International (formerly The International Confederation of Childhood Cancer Parent Organizations, ICCCPO)

PKW founders attended The Annual Conference of International Confederation of Childhood Cancer parent Organizations (ICCCPO) at Ireland in 2003.  In this meeting, they met numerous parents from around the world who experienced the same misfortune of losing their beloved child.  Even though some parents were come from the low-income countries with limited resources, they were still passionately to share their experiences and look forward to improving the global situation of childhood cancer patients.  In 2004, PKW became a member of ICCCPO and Mr. Benson Pau was endorsed to be the chairman of ICCCPO from 2008 to 2011.

Benson longs for higher level of international childhood cancer awareness through international collaborations. In 2010, the milestone to ICCCPO since its establishment in 1994 as a non-profit organization, the Economic and Social Council of United Nations (UN ECOSOC) granted a special consultative status to ICCCPO to  participate in discussion and express opinions.  In 2011, on behalf of ICCCPO, Benson attended the UN General Assembly to discuss prevention and control on issues related to Non-communicable Diseases (NCD).  Benson believes it’s a long journey to fight for anti-cancer and we need to cooperate internationally to take control of cancer together.  In 2012, as the director of ICCCPO, Benson visited untiringly to Hue in Vietnam, Jakarta in Indonesia, and London in England and so on to spread this important message.

In April 2012, Benson represented ICCCPO met with key World Health Organization (WHO) officials, Dr. Oleg Chestnov, the Assistant Director-General (NCD’s and Mental Health) to have further discussions on increasing awareness for early diagnosis of childhood cancers and making childhood cancer medicines available and accessible. In addition, a WHO-ICCCPO joint publication relating to childhood cancers was presented.

舊稱:國際兒童癌病家長協會聯盟 (簡稱 ICCCPO)

現稱:國際兒童癌病協會 (簡稱 CCI)

本會兩位創辦人於2003年參加了在愛爾蘭舉行的國際兒童癌病家長協會聯盟 (ICCCPO) 年會,這次會議讓他們遇見世界各地的同路人。縱使很多低收入國家的資源非常有限,但一班熱心的家長仍然熱切地分享經驗,期望世界各地的癌症兒童能改善生活質數。本會遂於2004年成為聯盟的成員,而本會主席鮑潔鈞先生更於2008至2011年被選為 ICCCPO 的會長。

鮑先生期望透過國際間的合作,讓全世界關注兒童癌病。2010年是 ICCCPO 自1994年創立後的里程碑,聯合國經濟及社會理事會 (UN ECOSOC) 正式授予 ICCCPO 非牟利機構特別咨詢身分,讓其能夠對相關議題參與討論及發表意見;翌年鮑氏更代表 ICCCPO 出席在紐約舉行的聯合國大會,商討有關全球如何預防及控制非傳染病 (又稱慢性疾病包括癌症, NCD)。 鮑先生認為抗癌是一場持久戰,要集合國際的互動,通力合作方可有機會戰勝癌症。因此,2012年他繼續以 ICCCPO 理事的身份,馬不停蹄走訪了越南順化、印尼雅加達、英國倫敦等等。

最令人鼓舞的是在2012年4月期間他代表 ICCCPO 與世界衛生組織 (WHO) 會面,獲得助理總幹事 Oleg Chestnov博士的支持,在全球社區積極推廣兒童癌症,並合作印製刊物,宣傳兒童癌症的早期病徵,讓病童有效控制痛楚及獲得適合的藥物及治療。在國際社群眾志成城下,為全球病童缔造生機。